1Prof. (Dr.) U.S. Krishna Nayak secured his B.D.S. degree from the College of Dental Surgery, K.M.C., Manipal (1982) and later went on to do his M.D.S. in Orthodontics from the same college in 1985.

He has been an integral part of the A.B Shetty Memorial Institute of Dental Sciences, ever since its inception in 1985. Having served as an Assistant Professor, Reader, Associate Professor, Senior Professor, Vice Principal and Dean Academics over the years, currently, He is the Principal and Dean & the Head of the largest Orthodontic Department in the country that has churned out a record number of over 200 Post Graduates over the past 25 years.

A keen academician, astute clinician, and an exemplary speaker, he has been at the forefront of Dentistry & Orthodontics as a Mentor & Educator. He has delivered several Keynote lectures and Orations & has presented and published many award winning Clinical and Research papers with a whopping 170 publications to his credit in International & National journals. He is also the Member of the Editorial Board of many reputed Journals including Quintessence International, The International Journal of Implantology and Research, Journal of International College of Dentists (Section VI), Journal of Indian Dental Association, Journal of Indian Orthodontic society, & is currently the Editor of ‘HEAL TALK’-A Journal of Clinical Dentistry. In recognition of his exemplary services in the field of Dentistry, he has been bestowed with distinguished Fellowships of The International College of Dentists, Pierre Fauchard Academy, World Federation of Orthodontics, Academy of Dentistry International and The Indian Board of Orthodontics (for excellence in Clinical Orthodontics).

He has been a Post graduate and Under graduate examiner at most of the Universities in the Country including AIIMS, New Delhi and P.G.I Chandigarh among others. He is also an Overseas Examiner at Maurus Dental College, Mauritius and Penang International Dental College, Malaysia. He has also served in various academic bodies such as the The Senate & Board of Studies in Dental Surgery, Rajiv Gandhi University of Health & Sciences Bangalore, Calicut University, Annamalai University and Mangalore University to name a few.

Right from the outset he has been an efficient administrator and an organizer par excellence, having been at the helm of several National and International bodies and organizations as President, Indian Dental Association Head Office (2000-2001), National President, Indian Orthodontic Society (1999-2000), Chairman Of The Pierre Fauchard Academy[2011-12], (India Section), President Of International College Of Dentists, Section VI [2012-2013]. He has also organized landmark World class Conferences and Conventions as Chairman, Organizing Committee, 8th Asian Pacific Orthodontic Congress And 47th IOC, New Delhi 2012, Chairman, Organizing Committee, 8th & 17th IOS PG Students Convention, Mangalore (2004 & 2013), Co-Chairman, FDI World Dental Congress, New Delhi (2004 & 2014), Chairman, Organizing Committee, 61st Indian Dental Conference, Mangalore (2008), Chairman Organizing Committee, Indian Society of Oral Implantologists Conference, 2015 among others.

In recognition of his exemplary contributions through the years to the field of Dentistry in particular and the Society in general, he has been bestowed with numerous laurels such as The highest civilian award in the state of Karnataka- The State Rajyotsava Award in 2003, Rajiv Gandhi Award For Human Excellence, The Indian Dentist of The Year Award-in the year 2002, Man of the year in Dental Health-2008 by the American Biographical Institute, and The Special Recognition Award from the Asia Pacific Dental Federation 2008.

To top it all, he has been recently conferred the very prestigious Outstanding Professor Award 2014 at the National Level by the Indian Orthodontic Society and also been bestowed upon with the Mastership of the International College of Dentists, USA.